Jacobson named Assembly Democratic majority conference chairman

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email
Share on print
Assemblyman Jonathan Jacobson (file photo)

ALBANY – State Assemblyman Jonathan Jacobson (D, Newburgh) has been named majority conference chairman by state Assembly Speaker Carl Heastie.

Jacobson, a member of the Democratic majority in the house, said he is “energized to serve” in his new role.

“This will mean additional duties inside the conference when we meet, but my main focus will still be the residents of the 104thy Assembly District making sure that their concerns and needs are heard in Albany and that we follow up with their constituent services here at home,” he said.

Jacobson said his goals include creating better workforce development opportunities, holding institutions like Central Hudson and industrial development agencies accountable, and combatting gun violence and illegal guns.

Heastie also named Kenneth Zebrowski of Rockland County as chairman of the Corporations, Authorities & Commissions Committee; Didi Barrett of Columbia County as chairwoman of the Energy Committee; Amy Paulin of Westchester as charwoman of the Health Committee; Aileen Gunther of Sullivan County as chairwoman of the Mental Health Committee; Gary Pretlow of Westchester as chairman of the Racing & Wagering Committee; and Steven Otis of Westchester as chairman of the Science & Technology Committee.

Zebrowski was also named chairman of the Assembly Reapportionment Committee.