State lifts ‘drought watch’ on some counties, not others

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email
Share on print

ALBANY – The state’s Drought Management Task Force has updated its drought status for several counties from ‘drought watch’ to ‘normal’ following the recent rains.

Those counties where the drought watch has been lifted include Columbia, Delaware, Greene, and Sullivan.

Other area counties will remain in drought watch designations due to ongoing precipitation deficits, unseasonable low streamflows, and groundwater declines. They include Dutchess, Orange, Putnam, Rockland and Ulster.

Westchester County remains in normal status due to the satisfactory storage levels and refill probability of the New York City reservoirs.