Area state senators name as committee chairs

ALBANY – State Senate Majority Leader Andrea Stewart-Cousins has announced chair assignments for the 2021 legislative session, all of whom are Democrats as is Stewart-Cousins.

Newly elected Senator Michelle Hinchey of Ulster County has been named as head of the Committee on Agriculture.

Senator Pete Harckham of Westchester County was named chairman of the Committee on Alcoholism and Substance Abuse.

Senator Shelley Mayer of Westchester was named to head the Committee on Education.

The Committee on Investigations and Government Operations is headed once again by Senator James Skoufis of Orange County.

Newly elected Senator Elijah Reichlin-Melnick of Rockland County was named chairman of the new Committee on Procurement.

“As we move forward, the Democratic majority will utilize our committees to review important issues and advance legislation that addressed the needs and priorities of New York residents,” said Stewart-Cousins, who will also chair the Committee on Rules.

Get Email Updates

* indicates required