USDA approves natural disaster designation for flooded counties

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email
Share on print

WASHINGTON – The USDA has approved a natural disaster designation for 43 New York counties including some in this region that suffered heaving rains and severe flooding during the 2019 farming season.

The designation allows communities hurt by extreme weather to access certain federal assistance including emergency loans and other aid programs from the Farm Service Agency to help recover their losses.

Among the counties designated as primary natural disaster areas making farm operators eligible for FSA emergency loans, provided they meet other requirements, are Columbia, Delaware, Greene, and Sullivan.

Farm operators also in Dutchess, Orange and Ulster counties are also eligible for assistance.