Local state, federal positions up for grabs in today’s elections

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email
Share on print

Casting a ballot in the Town of Wallkill

MID-HUDSON – The state and federal balance of power may be decided
today as voters go to the polls. They remain open until 9 tonight.
Voter turnout around the region has been heavy for a mid-term election.
Two of the region’s congressional races have gained a lot of attention. On the national radar, Democrat Antonio Delgado is challenging incumbent Republican John Faso in New York’s 19th District.  Democrat Sean Maloney faces a challenge from Republican James O’Donnell in the 18th District.
On the state level, Democratic Assemblyman James Skoufis and Republican Thomas Basile are vying for the State Senate seat being vacated by the retiring William Larkin.
Republican Orange County Clerk Annie Rabbitt faces Democrat Jennifer Metzger for the State Senate post currently held by the retiring John Bonacic.
Republican Senator Susan Serino is being challenged by Democrat Karen Smythe.
Incumbent Republican Senator Terrene Murphy faces a challenge from Democrat Peter Harckham and Democratic incumbent Senator David Carlucci is being challenged by former Rockland County Executive C. Scott Vanderhoef.
In Assembly races, Democrat Jonathan Jacobson and Republican Scott Manley face off for the post previously held by the late Frank Skartados.
Republican Assemblyman Karl Brabenec is being challenged by Democrat Scott Martens.
Democrat Mathew Rettig and Republican Colin Schmitt face off for the Assembly seat being vacated by James Skoufis.
Incumbent Democrat Didi Barrett is being challenged by Republican William Truitt. And Incumbent Republican Kieran Michael Lalor faces a challenge from Democrat Laurette Giardino.
On the state level, Dutchess County Executive Marcus Molinaro, a Republican, is challenging incumbent Democratic Governor Andrew Cuomo.
On the local level in Ulster County, Sheriff Paul VanBlarcum, a registered Democrat, is running on the Republican line as Juan Figueroa won the Democratic line in the primary election.