Governor declares state of emergency in four area counties


NYSEG worker in Carmel

ALBANY – Governor Andrew Cuomo, Sunday, declared a state of emergency
in Dutchess, Putnam, Sullivan and Westchester counties as they continue
to recover from the nor’easter that blasted the region.

The damage came from strong winds that brought down power lines, utility
poles and trees. Some areas received heavier snow than others.

Northwestern Sullivan got two feet of snow in the Livingston Manor area
while the Carmel area of Putnam County received about five inches.

Central Hudson, Orange and Rockland and NYSEG repair crews have been working
around the clock to restore power with the help of other line crews brought
in from other areas including from Quebec.

The governor has also called in the New York National Guard to assist
in the cleanup.

Blizzard in Livingston Manor

As of mid-afternoon on Sunday, outages remaining included 4,708 in Columbia
County; 25,267 in Dutchess; 1,401 in Greene; 2,240 in Orange County; 26,213
in Putnam; 1,101 in Rockland; 19,147 in Sullivan; and 74,690 in Westchester.

Some areas are not expected to have power fully restored until Wednesday.


Popular Stories