Governor declares state of emergency


ALBANY – Governor Cuomo has declared
a state of emergency for among other counties, Dutchess, Orange, Putnam,
Rockland, Ulster and Westchester in anticipation of the winter storm expected
to bring heavy snowfall and high wind.

He also announced a tractor-trailer ban in effect on major state highways
– including the Thruway and I-84 – effective 4 p.m. The state
is also considering a full travel ban on roads and bridges as well as
the potential closing of public transit networks in affected areas beginning
at 11 p.m.

The governor has also directed all non-essential state employees in counties
covered by the state of emergency to leave work at 3 p.m.

Metro-North Railroad may close at 11 p.m. as the snow storm intensifies.
The decision will be announced at 4 p.m.


Popular Stories